Corazon de Swiss

March 18, 2007

Good day, Sunshine…

Filed under: Frick and Frack,The Fam — by corazondeswiss @ 2:47 pm

I know, I posted 3 days in a row and then nothing!  What was I thinking?  Well, it was a busy week with all the writing and the updating.  Wednesday I did some shopping after work- getting a shower gift for my friend’s baby shower next week and bought my nephew an “I love my aunt” bib.  I’ve been looking for him one since before he was born- and have only found pink and girly ones.  I don’t know why they think only girls have aunts and love them.  K loves his aunts- probably because we spoil him rotten.  And when I got home from there I had to fill out my NCAA basketball bracket for CP’s office pool (the guys decided I can enter this year, even though I took their money in last year’s pool)  So far I’m not doing great, but CP’s in first place.
Thursday I went to “I Can’t Stop Loving You” a Ray Charles musical revue (with dancing) with a friend.  We had dinner at Olive Garden before the show (I had Shrimp Primavera) and got in late.  I woke up at about 2:30 when I thought I might see my supper again.  Not good.  So I went to the kitchen and took some good ol’ Pepto Bismol before heading back to bed.  I wasn’t sure I was going to be at work on Friday.
Since I started my new job, I really haven’t had a lot of slow days- even the previous Friday when CP was on his way to visit, so it took me by surprise when this Friday was soooooooo ssssllllloooooowwwwww.  I have been doing at least 3 new patient evaluations a day since I started and on the previous 2 Fridays did 7-8.  So I did have some patients to see, but this was a weird week- I spent a lot of it chasing my tail, going to see patients and having nursing holds or discontinuing therapy due to surgery or people refusing to see me.  This Friday I only saw 1 new patient.  And tried to see several others but was unable to for reasons listed above.  So I was really, really ready to get home. 
When I got home Friday afternoon I was greeted by an unpleasant surprise- one of the cats had sprayed a basket of clean laundry.  By sprayed, I mean he urinated on it.  I don’t know which “he” did it.  So both we banished to the porch for the day.  I don’t know why one of them would do it- I’m frustrated.  I’ve read up on “inappropriate elimination in cats” which says that it is often hormonal (I had the cats neutered at 6 months), or behavioral- related to moving or new people or new animals (check, check check, and check check check check).  I would be more understanding if this had happened early in our move- but its been almost 2 months (how did that happen?!), so really we should have gotten over the hurdle by now.  Even worse, the offender repeated on Saturday morning, and I still didn’t catch him at his tricks. I don’t know what to do- I’ve been trying to give them some extra attention this weekend, and am considering taking them to the vet- Frick has previously had a stress induced UTI- maybe he is having another one. 
Saturday my parents and I took my nephew to my dad’s family reunion where he was of course showered with attention and was an absolute doll- he is such a good baby.  I hope my babies are as good as K is. (No, I’m not having any anytime soon.)  And of course one of my aunts made a comment about me “having it all taken care of” in reference to CP and getting married. To which my mom has to reply “he’s kicking and screaming the whole way”.  I really hate it when she does that. 
So far today, I have been catching up on my reading, and time in pajamas- resting up since I will be on the road the next 2 weekends- first a trip to South Florida for the baby shower, then a trip to G’ville my most favorite place to go to a concert with my sister.  And the week after that is Easter.  How crazy is that?!  Where on earth does the time go?  
I also have to start thinking about an anniversary present for CP.  Our anniversary is coming up on April 3rd- 4 years.  I have no idea what to get him, since I just used up the few ideas I had on his birthday.  Fortunately this is the last gift occasion for CP until Christmas, so I don’t have to stress about gifts for him much.   
So I need to get done here and finish up the organization project I started earlier and go out with the dogs and enjoy the somewhat cold Florida sunshine.

1 Comment »

  1. Oh, the comments are so frustrating. The hints, the questions, I’m always like – I’m not the one who’s putting it off, alright? 😉

    Hope you figure out what’s wrong with the kitty. My rabbits are terrible for spraying, and they’re both girls. Lucky they’re outside, so it’s not so bad.

    I’m in our work’s rugby competition here. So far doing terribly (only first week, though) but last year I came fourth!

    Comment by alyndabear — March 19, 2007 @ 12:15 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

