Corazon de Swiss

October 24, 2007

Traveling and Arriving

Filed under: Random Cheesiness,Uncategorized — by corazondeswiss @ 7:30 pm

As I said in my earlier post, day one of my trip started off not quite the way I planned.  The flying part was easy- my flights were all on time, I even arrived early to my final destination!  Because my first flight was so early I watched the sun come up from the sky.  And I was wistful…thinking of Ashley and how this was just the first time that the sun would rise without her on earth.  I thought of how lucky I was to be traveling, and visiting my friend.  (Traveling alone leaves one lots of time to think.) I also spent lots of time on the phone with friends and family between flights in the airports.  (Plugged into the wall because I drained my phone battery.)
I read when I was on a plane or not on the phone…a book called Reconstructing Natalie.  I wasn’t totally sure about it, but I ended up really liking it.  Eventually after 3 flights and hours on the phone, in 3 airports and one book later I arrived at my destination. 
First, check out how Frick tried to prevent me from leaving:
Frick on my suitcase

I took these first 2 pictures from the plane. 
NY from the air

Another one from the air
I loved the dots of color of the trees that had changed from the ones that hadn’t.
That evening, we went to a Tapas restaurant and enjoyed Flights of Wine (5 different types of wine- small glasses that add up to 1.5-2.5 glasses).  I had the Local flight which consisted of 5 glasses of wine from local wineries. 
Local Flight

From L to R: Sparkling: Chateau Frank, Celebre, Cremant; Red: Standing Stone, Pinnacle, (Cab, Cab Franc, Merlot); White: Ravine’s Chardonnay; White: Treleaven, Dry Riesling; White: Atwater, GewurztraminerMy friend got the Grapes of the Loire Valley Flight:

Grapes of the Loire Valley Flight

From L to R: White: Cederberg, Chenin Blanc, South Africa; White: Muscadet Sevre & Maine Sur Lie, Domaine Saupin, France; White: Cartegena, Sauvignon Blanc, “Estate Grown”, San Antionio Valley, Chile;Red: Chinon, “Les Petites Roches”, Joguet (Cabernet Franc); Red: Beaujolais Villages, “Clos de Creuse Noire”, Domaine du Tiellet, France (Gamay)
We walked around and did some shopping before we went to another restaurant for drinks and dessert. 
Martinis

White Chocolate Martini and Espresso Martini
Desserts
Yummy desserts!
After our dessert we went back to her house and watched What Not to Wear and Grey’s Anatomy on her DVR. Perfect way for old friends to spend the first night of our weekend. 
I don’t want to crash my blog with pictures so I’ll post again with more tomorrow.

1 Comment »

  1. Yum! I want wine and desserts.. beautiful plane pictures!

    Comment by alyndabear — October 25, 2007 @ 1:51 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

