Corazon de Swiss

October 31, 2007

I was going to call this post Halloween Grinch

Filed under: NaBloPoMo,Swiss Cheese is Holy (Confessions),The Fam — by corazondeswiss @ 7:50 pm

but Alynda posted before I did! I thought I was the only Halloween grinch.  And also I am in agreement with Aly- if you can’t be bothered to dress up, don’t trick or treat.
I don’t know if I’ve ever confessed this, but I am not a Halloween person.  I didn’t dress up for Halloween until I was 5. Because that’s when I found out about Halloween because I went to school. My mom is not a Halloween person, so I guess I am not one by genetics.   But when we were little, she did host Halloween parties for us and helped with the ones at school and take us trick or treating.
And honestly, I could live the rest of my life without ever dressing up for Halloween again. Or going to a Halloween party. I should live the rest of my life without candy, but seriously, what’s life without candy, especially chocolate?  What’s my favorite Halloween candy?  Candy corn.  And I will only it at this time of year.  I’m aware that they make Easter “candy corn” but that stuff is not real candy corn as far as I am concerned.  Also a favorite, chocolate.  In its various forms. Most especially the forms that also involve nuts.  Or peanut butter.  Yum.  And since we have a BIG bowl of candy and have had approximately 10 trick or treaters, meaning I get to eat lots and lots of chocolate.  In addition to the chocolate I’ve been eating since it arrived in our house some time last week.  (Good thing I am back into my 6 am gym class 5 days a week!)
I’ve been dressing up the last 3 years for work because “everyone” does it, and there are costume contests, departments often come up with themes and I don’t want to be a Grinch at work.  And this year I even got to recycle last year’s costume.  Which is good because I spent about $70 last year on my costume and I don’t even care for Halloween.  (I spent $50 on part of it b/c we dressed up as football players and I bought a nice jersey for my G@tors that I could wear to support the team at other times.)
Another confession- I’m nervous about NaPoBloMo…I don’t know how I’m going to post every day this month!  I’m going to be away this weekend, so I’ll be busy tomorrow writing posts for tomorrow, Friday and Saturday so I can get them up while I’m gone. 
Anyway- leave your favorite Halloween (or anytime) candy in the comments!

2 Comments »

  1. I am SO glad I’m not the only Grinch around here! Ha 🙂

    Comment by alyndabear — November 1, 2007 @ 1:10 am |Reply

  2. I too enjoy candy corn, but Reese’s Pieces are my all-time favorite.

    Good luck this month! If you need any ideas, don’t be afraid to ask your readers. That’s what I did, and I now have a reader-submitted idea for every day of the month. Gotta love it when others do the thinking for you!

    Comment by Audrey — November 1, 2007 @ 10:28 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

