Corazon de Swiss

November 6, 2007

This one time, on MySpace, my childhood best friend found me…

Filed under: Love & Relationships,NaBloPoMo — by corazondeswiss @ 8:20 pm

Really.  I told you awhile ago I had a story to share about that…and now that NaBloPoMo is here and I need material to fill up the next 24 days, here is the story.  When I was 7 years old, my dad got a promotion at work, which also involved a transfer to a new town across the state.  But the housing market was bad and our house didn’t sell for a whole year.  So my dad rented a room in the new town and commuted home on his 2 days off.  And my mom worked 40 hours a week and raised 2 kids and was pregnant with my sister.  But I digress. 
In kindergarten, I met my best friend at school, TabbyCat.  TabbyCat had the longest brown hair and she wore it styled differently every day.  We had the same kindergarten and 2nd grade teachers.  I was devastated when our house sold and we actually had to move.  That year for Christmas I was given a Cabbage Patch Cornsilk doll.  She had long brown hair and brown eyes, just like my very best friend TabbyCat. And she had a name I didn’t like…Norma something or other.  So of course, I renamed her after my very best friend.
Not long ago I got an email on MySpace from someone saying “I think I found you” and it was from TabbyCat.  I was SO excited.  I had always wondered what happened to her.  And missed her.  So we connected on the phone for the first time in 20 years.  And in some ways, she sounds the same. And we still have so much in common.  It was as though those 20 years fell away and I was transported to be back with her.  She told me how sad she was when I moved and she cried for a week.  And her parents bought her a Cabbage Patch Cornsilk doll and she named it after me! (Seriously, I got goosebumps when she told me that- because I hadn’t yet told her about my doll) In an even more interesting twist- she lives not far from where I worked in SoFl. Unfortunately we didn’t reconnect until I had left SoFl, but someday I’ll get back and we’ll see each other again.  Until then, we’ve got email and phone calls.  Pretty neat, though isn’t it?

2 Comments »

  1. You’ve got to love the wonders of the internet, right!?

    Comment by alyndabear — November 6, 2007 @ 11:07 pm |Reply

  2. I would love to reconnect with one of my best friends from school. I was hoping to find her on myspace but didn’t have any luck.

    Comment by NYKAT — November 7, 2007 @ 6:29 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

