Corazon de Swiss

November 14, 2007

Sweet potatoes

Filed under: NaBloPoMo,Random Cheesiness — by corazondeswiss @ 9:32 pm

I know it must seem like I have a food blog lately, but really I am just cooking more with the approaching holiday sesason.  At work we are having our Thanksgiving tomorrow, so I made my contribution tonight…Sweet Potato Souffle’  It is by far one of my most favorite holiday foods and truth be told, I did not even eat sweet potatoes until this recipe came in to my life.  Especially since I don’t like the sweet potatoes with the marshmallows.  I’m just not that big on the marshmallows. 

Sweet Potato Souffle’ (Swiss’s Grandmother)

3 cups cooked, mashed sweet potatoes (I don’t actually measure, just use 3 or 4 large sweet potatoes cut up, boiled and mashed)
1/2 cup butter melted
2 eggs beaten
1/3 cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup sugar (I use Splenda baking mix so you cut this in half)
Mix and pour into casserole dish
Topping:
2 1/2 tbsp. butter, melted
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
I usually double (or triple) the topping (because seriously, its the best part!)
Mix above and sprinkle on top of sweet potato mixture. 
Bake at 350 for 25 minutes

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

