Corazon de Swiss

November 19, 2007

Home again

Filed under: It's All About Me,NaBloPoMo,The Fam — by corazondeswiss @ 7:15 pm

Zandria wrote a post about the “Boomerang Generation“- those who have moved out of their parents’ homes and moved back in. 

It’s well documented in this category that I did that very thing last year.  I had been out of graduate school and on my own for 3 years when I decided to take a job in my hometown and move back in with my parents.  I originally intended to only stay a few months before buying my own place and moving out.  We’re in month 9 now.  I pay rent on 2 storage units.  I don’t remember what all is in them except that much of it used to fill my 750 sq. ft. apartment.  I was really unsure about taking this job, but I wasn’t happy in SoFl, and I missed my family.  I wanted to get out of my lease and I sure didn’t want to take on a new one after I paid so much money to get out of the last one.  So my parents house was perfect.  Affordable.  No lease.  Comes with dishwasher, washer/dryer. Built in pet sitters and occasional meals.  But I need to state that they asked me to come home.  Told me to move in with them.  Drove me crazy the week after my interview while I was trying to decide.  All but begged me to move home.

Honestly, it hasn’t been bad.  And parents as roommates are pretty good.  I’ve learned to quilt with my mom.  Discussed financial planning with my dad.  Had someone to take care of me when I was puking up my guts.  (I did get terribly sick once when I lived alone.  I would not recommend it.  At all.) As an adult, we don’t have curfew issues and rule issues.  I’m courteous about my comings and goings.  I help out with the dishes and keeping the house clean.  I take care of their pets.  Make trips to the store for forgotten items.  Cook.  Take out the trash. 

This is not the first time I’ve lived with family as an adult.  When I was a graduate student I lived with my mother’s parents.  They were great roommates too.  I’d lived on my own for 4 years in college and it was nice to live with people who took care of me some.  (When I lived there I didn’t do laundry and only cooked occasionally.) But I also lived with my grandfather for the last year of his life.  I was there with my grandmother when he had a brain hemorrhage and a craniotomy.  When he got diagnosed with the lung cancer that would eventually take him.  When he came home with hospice.  When he died. And for the months after that.  I would not trade that time for any thing.  It was by far one of the most trying, but also most rewarding times in my life and I am blessed to have had it. 

Back to my current situation: I thought I’d be ready to start looking for places to live quickly.  But I’m not. When I look at ads for houses, my vision starts to swim.  I get a headache.  I wish they were better organized.  Or better yet, I could put out an ad. 
Young professional seeks starter home in following areas X,Y, Z.
3 bedroom, 2 bath with screen porch and garage. 
New or like new. 
Price range $$$

Then people selling houses could call me and say, “I’ve got it- the house for you!  Come by and see it!”  Seriously, wouldn’t that be awesome?! 

I have saved money by moving home.  I carry no credit card debt.  I only owe on my car and my student loan.  I’ll be able to pay my car off early.  I’ve got money in the bank.  It’s allowed me to do things for myself I wouldn’t have been able to do otherwise. (I sure wouldn’t have been able to afford to shell out for another plane ticket last month when I got stranded by 2 airlines.  Someday I’ll tell you the story.  I’m still mad about it right now.) Or buy a sewing machine. 

I foresee a move out in the next few months as my sister will be coming home for the time between her December college graduation and starting graduate school in the fall.  And I love my sister, but we haven’t spent this much time in the same house in years.  I’m a little afraid.  I never thought I’d live with my parents after I became an independent adult, but it’s been working out quite nicely. 

2 Comments »

  1. This will be my first move out of home — but no doubt after I’m back from overseas, I’ll be crashing with the folks again until I figure out what I’m doing. Hopefully that’ll involve a future with J & I, but you never know!

    Comment by alyndabear — November 21, 2007 @ 12:54 am |Reply

  2. Thanks for sharing all that! It’s a very interesting post. And like you, I’m sure if I had to move home again it would be the same situation. The times I’ve been back in the past, my mom has always been fine with me coming — and in fact, encourages me to stay and is sad when I leave! 🙂

    Comment by Zandria — November 21, 2007 @ 11:53 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

